24 states, UTs roll out new Bharat Series for vehicle registration: Transport Development Council

To ensure seamless movement of personal vehicles in India, 24 states and UTs have launched the new Bharat series (BH series) for vehicle registration, according to the minutes of the annual meeting of the Transport Development Board.

The 41st meeting of the Transport Development Council (TDC) was held last month in Bangalore.

“Since the inception of the policy, more than 20,000 vehicles have been registered in 24 different states and UTs,” the minutes of the meeting said.

Last year in August, the government notified a new vehicle registration scheme that will free vehicle owners from the re-registration process when they move from one state or Union territory to another.

According to the minutes, to demonstrate the need for smooth circulation of tourists throughout the country without stopping at the various checkpoints and payment of taxes in accordance with local/state regulations, the initiatives taken by the ministry of roads have been a success with over 30,000 permits and 2,75,000 clearances already granted till date.

State governments are encouraged to revise speed limit restrictions in urban and semi-urban stretches to provide smooth traffic, he added.

Recently, Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari earlier said that he is in favor of increasing the maximum speed limit on roads to 140 km per hour.

Gadkari added that while the speed limits for national highways should be at least 100 km per hour on four-lane roads, the respective speed limits for two-lane roads and city roads should of being 80 km per hour and 75 km per hour.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *